The Real G.O.A.T.


As I browsed through the depths of 302 blogs, I came across a blog labelled “Dinner with Michael Jordan”. The blog talked about Michael Jordan’s success both on the basketball court and in the corporate world. He consistently referred to Michael Jordan as the G.O.A.T(Greatest of All Time). Now, everyone who knows me knows that I am a a crazy soccer fan.  So immediately I thought about the G.O.A.T of soccer, Thierry Henry. The french international is definitely one of the most decorated players in history. From winning the 1998 World Cup, the 2000 Euro Cup, and the English Premier League to being named Footballer of the Year on 3 separate occasions, it is without question Thierry Henry is the absolute G.O.A.T. Despite all these accolades, one of the major reasons I would want to have dinner with him is because of a firsthand experience playing against him.

About an inch away from me stood Thierry Henry, one of the most iconic footballers in history.  I closely watched his feet dance around the ball, enticing me to bite. With one quick move to his left, I made my move to tackle only to have him push the ball back through my legs. For all you soccer players or fans, you know how humiliating this is. And for all you who don’t know what being nut-megged is, it is the equivalent of singing Justin Bieber in front of the entire cafeteria as a freshman in college(also guilty). Typically, most players would rub that in after the play. Instead, he just instructed me on what to do next time. After finishing playing in the session and observing him in practice,  I could tell that his soccer knowledge was unparalleled. The way he interacted with the other players to help them  get better individually and to help the team get better made him seem more like a coach than a player. I have always maintained a very analytic approach towards soccer as well.

The irony behind this thought is that a couple weeks after this session, he announced his retirement from professional soccer. He was signed by Sky Sports News to provide soccer analysis during and after professional games.  Although I have technically “met” him, it was only one session with the New York Redbulls where I was brought up to play in. I would really want to have dinner with him because I have always had ambitions to either become a professional player or a coach. Being able to have dinner with him would expose me to an ex-professional’s perspective on the game of soccer.  I would ask him, “What advice would you give to young players attempting to pursue a professional career?” The success he has had at every team he has been apart of clearly shows he knows what it takes to achieve greatness. Also, I would ask, “Do you incorporate the mindset of many managers in your ability to analyze the game or does it come from your experiences?” Managers all have different styles in regards to the game; it would be interesting to observe how he sees the game.

To rival the past post, here is some footage showing why Thierry Henry is a legend.

Goals by Thierry

Leave a Reply

