Dream On


A few weeks ago I was sick with the flu and spent the day in bed.  As I lay there, too sick to do anything (even Netflix was out of the question), I faded in and out of sleep.  At one particular moment, I remember staring at the ceiling and drifting into unconsciousness.  The next thing I knew I was on a beach with the cast of Entourage (a favorite show of mine that I had been watching the day before), ready to board a private jet.  I remember how ecstatic and privileged I felt to be living the high life with some of my favorite television characters.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with Entourage, it is a show that follows an actor from Queens who moves to Hollywood with his brother and two best friends and makes it big.  In other words, it takes the viewer into the world of a movie star, consisting of eating rich foods, meeting important and powerful people, and attending exclusive events.  The clip below provides a better glimpse into the lifestyle I am referring to:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=woDYWWQ07BU

As thrilled as I was in this dream, what happened next changed my life.  I walked onto the private jet with the cast.  The next thing I knew, it was completely dark and I heard the pilot shouting.  The plane began to plummet, and all I could think about were my family members.  It was by far the most real experience I have ever had in a dream–not only because the fall seemed to last for at least a minute, but also because I really thought I was going to die and thought of nothing but my loved ones.  It basically showed me what it would be like to be in a plane crash.

Maybe I’m reading too much into the dream, but it sent me a message–no matter how “far” we get in life or how important we think personal gain is, it is important to remember what really matters at the end of the day.  I don’t know why I had that dream–it could have been a stupid train of thoughts caused by my recent experiences.  What I do know is that it changed my perspective–I’ve remembered it almost every day since it occurred.  Although this was one of the millions of dreams I’ll have in my lifetime, it is absolutely one of the most important and definitely had the power to be a ripple of change.

4 thoughts on “Dream On”

  1. It seems like you had a lucid dream! I wonder if you are at your most vulnerable mentality or emotionally while in R.E.M. sleep? I definitely agree with your realization that family is most important. It can be difficult to remember this during work or times of stress. How might you initiative this in a communal or social setting?

    Like

  2. sounds like a pretty crazy dream. Although Vinny Chase’s plane hasnt crashed in mine yet, I’ve been having some realistic dreams recently as well. I think it is really important to try and remember them. A lot of times they can help us explain situations or make decisions, something we are doing a lot of at this point. I definitely agree that these messages can be powerful ripples of change. Have you encouraged other people to listen to their dreams since this happened?

    Like

  3. I’m not one to read into my dreams too much. However, it seemed like it allowed you to have a better perspective of what matters in the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

